By: Embassy of the Republic of the Philippines, SEOUL

SEOUL, 27 June 2022 - ROK President Yoon Suk-yeol conferred the prestigious Apostle of Peace medal to 2LT Benito Junio Camacho and 2LT Gregorio Vicenal Roxas, two Filipino veterans of the Korean War during a commemorative luncheon with Korean War veterans on 24 June 2022 at the Shilla Hotel in Seoul.

2LT Camacho and 2LT Roxas served as members of the 7,420 strong contingent of the Philippine Expeditionary Forces to Korea (PEFTOK) that fought in the 1950-1953 Korean War. The Philippines was the first Asian country to respond to the call by the United Nations Security Council (UNSC), to send combat troops in the defense of South Korea from the invasion of the North. The Filipino soldiers characterized by their bravery and combat proficiency stood out especially during the Battle of Yuldong and the Battle of Eerie Hill. Aside from the two Filipino war veterans, President Yoon also conferred the peace medal to veterans from the USA, Canada, and Ethiopia.

During the event, President Yoon expressed his appreciation for the selflessness and bravery of the veterans, saying that they are the heroes who made the Republic of Korea what it is today. The President also emphasized that the freedom, peace, and prosperity which the Republic of Korea enjoys were achieved through the blood, sweat, sacrifice, and dedication of the Korean and UN military veterans.

The luncheon was attended by more than 200 veterans and their family members, including twelve (12) UN veterans. Philippine Ambassador to the Republic of Korea Theresa Dizon-De Vega also attended the event and congratulated the Philippine awardees and their families. To show the appreciation of the Philippines for their service and bravery, Ambassador De Vega with Philippine Defense Attache Col. Enriqueto Deocadez likewise awarded the two veterans with a Certificate of Appreciation from the Embassy at a banquet hosted by the ROK Ministry of Patriots and Veterans Affairs in honor of the UN Korean War Veterans on 27 June 2022. END